## TASMANIAN OFFICIAL POST OFFICES 1906

he following is a list of the most common Circular Date Stamps found on the Tasmanian Pictorials. The list comprises the 51 "Official" Post Offices as at 1906. These Offices serviced the larger population centres. The list is useful as a guide to the most common of the un-rated postmarks found on the Pictorials. With the exception of Alberton, which is less common, the Circular Date Stamps from these offices should be easy for collectors to come by and only a very a modest price should be paid. Note that other un-rated CDS not on this list can be considered the less common of the un-rated types. There are a number of points to note:

- Strikes on the higher values, 2 ½, 3d, 4d, 5d and 6d will be considerably less common than those on the 1d, 2d and to a lesser extent, ½ and may command a higher price
- Keen collectors will often pay more for a very high quality strike
- Among the larger Offices, Hobart, Launceston and Zeehan, there are still some scarcer types
- There are also some scarcer types amongst other offices. A detailed reading of "Tasmania: The Postal History and Postal Markings" Vols I (pp 112) and II (pp 86) will provide further information. A very rare type of Queenstown has also been identified since publication of these volumes.

These Offices were located where population and the volume of business warranted the setting up of a permanent establishment, staffed by permanent officers. The site and the building were, in most cases, owned by the Government. These offices, of course, performed every service - postal, telegraphic, telephonic, Savings Bank, Money Orders, old-age pensions. In 1901 there were 57 "Official" P.O.'s. and in 1912 44.Lesser classes of Offices include Semi-Official, Allowance, and Receiving Offices. At the end of 1906 there were 51 Official Offices, as follows:

## **Official Post Offices 1906**

## Alberton Macquarie Plains

Bellerive Mathinna Bothwell New Norfolk Burnie **New Town** Campbell Town Oatlands Cressy Ouse Deloraine Penguin Perth Derby **Devonport East** Pontville **Devonport West** Queenstown Evandale Richmond Fingal Ringarooma

Forth Ross Franklin Sandy Bay Scottsdale Geeveston Gladstone Sheffield Glenorchy St. Helen's Gormanston St. Marv's Hamilton Stanley Hobart Strahan Huonville Ulverstone Kempton Wynyard Latrobe Waratah Westbury Launceston Longford Zeehan

Lovett

## Examples of the common cds on higher values

















The above Office Classification and list of Offices has been summarised from: Philately from Australia. Vol II, No 1, March 1950. "Tasmanian Town Name and Date Cancellations" J. R. W. Purves